Minutes: October 1, 2020

The regular meeting of the MN SAAB Club was called to order at 1930 on date in Island Lake County Park by Jack Sabba. Officers Present: Jason Ecker, Colton Angermeier, Jim Hickstein, Greg Abbott.

Present: 13 voting members in good standing, 5 guests 

Agenda / Discussion / Voting:

Project Car: Proposal from Chuck Andrews: 2005 Saab 9-3 Convertible donated to the SAAB Heritage Museum; USA. Members expressed interest in taking on the project to assess and possibly rehabilitate the vehicle before it makes its way to the museum in SD. Several members and guests expressed willingness to volunteer time and help work on the vehicle. Jack/Colton offered shop space at their garage for the project. Jim Hickstein and Chuck Andrew’s to coordinate pickup/delivery of the vehicle.

Driving Courses: Bruce Parker presented on opportunities for Club Members to participate in supervised driving courses at DCTC. We have been invited in the past but participation has been limited.

Structure: Discussion to change the formal structure of the club ended with a unanimous vote to maintain the current structure; primarily to maintain an entity structure for legal reasons. There was consensus to modify the by-laws to drop “Regular Meetings” (Bi-Monthly, first Thursday) and making an annual (or as-needed) Membership Meeting to discuss business items and hold officer elections in 2021, moving forward – Likely in April. Direction received from Membership was to continue to have one club event per month at a minimum, but not necessarily expect the regular meetings traditionally organized by the board. This will reduce the regular workload on club officers and offer opportunities to members interested in taking a more active role to create events and invite members to participate.

Dues: Between Jan 1, 2020 and Oct 1, 2020 the Club has provided meals at 4 events and raffled prizes at 5 events.  Members discussed where current dues dollars go and where to focus spending in the future. Consensus was to provide food at volunteer events (if possible) and occasionally at other club events when practical. Door prizes & raffles were favored by some and not necessary for others. Status quo is to offer a door prize by raffle at an event periodically and encourage donations for future door prizes. No consensus reached to change dues amount. Dues amount will stay at $20/year for active members. 

Officer elections: Elections in April were canceled due to Covid-19. A motion was made and unanimously accepted to synchronize the election cycle for 2020 offices to April 2021 –

President – Jack Sabba
Vice President – Jason Ecker
Secretary – Colton Angermeier
Treasurer – Jim Hickstein
Director – Greg Abbott

We are always looking for volunteers to the board – if interested in taking a leadership role in the club please reach out to one of the current officers.

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 2015 by Jack Sabba. The next general meeting will be at 7 PM on December 3rd, 2020 at 7PM, location TBD.

Minutes submitted by: Jack Sabba
Approved by: Colton Angermeier, Jason Ecker, Jim Hickstein

Minutes: April 4, 2019


Board election

These Officers were duly elected by the membership:

Vice President –Braedon Holt, to 2021
Secretary – Martin Hilger, to 2021
Director – Jason Ecker, to 2021

The following Officers were not up for election this year, and remain:

President – Jack Sabba, to 2020
Treasurer – Scott Benson, to 2020
Director – Greg Abbott, to 2020

Terms end at the April membership meeting of the stated year.

Other Business 

Established a date for the 2019 Adopt a Highway spring clean-up.

  • Saturday April, 20th at 10AM
  • A preemptive rain date of Saturday April, 27th is set

A new 20% discount has been established at U-Pull-R-Parts, for active members.  Page discussing details to come.

Minutes: April 5, 2018


Board election

These Officers were duly elected by the membership:

President – Jack Sabba, to 2020
Vice President –Braedon Holt, to 2019
Treasurer – Scott Benson, to 2020
Secretary – James Hickstein, to 2019
Director – Greg Abbott, to 2020

Terms end at the April membership meeting of the stated year.

Next meeting is June 7, 2018.  We will not be at the April location again.

Full minutes

Minutes: March 2, 2017


Board election

Those present agreed that the terms for the Board will be as follows:

  • President – 1 year, April 2017 to April 2018; and two years thereafter
  • Treasurer – 1 year, April 2017 to April 2018; and two years thereafter
  • Director – 1 year, April 2017 to April 2018; and two years thereafter
  • Vice President – 2 years, April 2017 to April 2019
  • Secretary – 2 years, April 2017 to April 2019

Nominations were duly accepted, and the slate for election in April is:

President – Greg Abbott
Vice President – Jack Sabba
Treasurer – Scott Benson
Secretary – James Hickstein
Director – Braedon Holt

Full minutes.

Minutes: January 5, 2017

At our regular monthly meeting last night, we decided on a few changes:

  1. We have to find a new location.  We will announce this before the next meeting.
  2. The next meeting will be on March 2, skipping February; and will be bimonthly from April onward.

Full minutes.

Minutes: December 8, 2016

At our regular members’ meeting Chris Luick was removed from his office as President for cause, by a unanimous vote of the members present.

Read the minutes.

The Board now consists of:

    • President: Greg Abbott
    • Vice President: Jack Sabba
    • Secretary: James Hickstein
    • Treasurer: Scott Benson

Their terms expire with the annual Board election at the April meeting. Nominations must be submitted at least 30 days in advance.